Cupcakes and a Good Cry

So as we are all aware, the rapture didn’t happen. I’m still here! (Unless they forgot one!) Anyway, my friends and I had a little Happy Rapture Day Party so naturally, I make red velvet cupcakes made from the blood of sinners. (Yeah, I thought I was pretty clever, too 😉 ) I borrowed Paula Deen’s recipe, that butter queen… I don’t particularly enjoy her show but I know I can go to her for some rich and delicious baked good recipes.

Paula Deen’s Red Velvet Cupcakes

Click Here for Original Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons red food coloring
  • 1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 1 pound cream cheese, softened
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • Chopped pecans and fresh raspberries or strawberries, for garnish

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 (12-cup) muffin pans with cupcake papers.

In a medium mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder. In a large bowl gently beat together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla with a handheld electric mixer. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined.

Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake tins about 2/3 filled. Bake in oven for about 20 to 22 minutes, turning the pans once, half way through. Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. Remove from oven and cool completely before frosting.

For the Cream Cheese Frosting:

In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter and vanilla together until smooth. Add the sugar and on low speed, beat until incorporated. Increase the speed to high and mix until very light and fluffy.

Garnish with chopped pecans and a fresh raspberry or strawberry.

Cook’s Note: Frost the cupcakes with a butter knife or pipe it on with a big star tip.

Part Two: It’s Cool to Cry Sometimes

These here are three of my really great friends, people that have really helped me throughout my first year of college. This weekend, I guess everything caught up with me. Last semester, I broke up with my long distance boyfriend of a year and a half and later, tried something with someone else and it didn’t work out. Needless to say, it’s been a little rough and my approach has kind of been… not to approach it at all, honestly. I had this idea if I didn’t deal with it, didn’t talk to the people that hurt me, didn’t talk to anybody that would help about it that it would go away. Well, that backfired. I ended up in tears last night, convinced that there were very few people in my life who actually gave a shit about me and that the people who hurt me the most could care less. I hated that I thought so much about people who dismiss me as crazy and stupid. My friends helped me see that it’s perfectly fine to be upset, that I’m not being entirely pathetic and that I can’t just pent it all up, otherwise I explode in a disastrous mess. These people want to help me and hear me talk and that’s taking me some getting used to.

So, all in all, it’s okay to cry. Life is figuring out what we are doing wrong, fixing it and then making new mistakes. We all have our stuff and we have to lean on each other and pull from each others’ strengths. I’m not over my stuff, but they are helping me. We are helping each other and that’s what this summer is all about. I am so looking forward to Fall semester to start and to starting over again. So onwards and upwards, my blog buddies! It can only be uphill from your lowest points.

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

