I’m a ‘Big Girl’ Now

This summer, I have been cooking a lot lately. It’s another scheme to keep myself busy- I would rather be up at school than stuck here at home. I’ll usually come home from work around 4:30 and watch ‘Cake Boss’ until I get hungry enough and realize it will take another two hours for my mom to come home and figure something out. At this point, I’ll usually put something together for dinner. (Can you tell College has made me miss my kitchen?)

Anyway, my eventful day included a productive work day, leaving the office early in anticipation for the last Oprah and this book waiting for me when I got back! But as life would have it, South Florida traffic had something else in mind. I got into a major fender bender today- my bumpers are pretty much toast (Someone hit me from behind going 25 mph which made me hit someone in front of me  -_-). So I get Dad’s car for the next week or so while Donna (my lovely PT Cruiser) is in the shop. Huzzah to a free full tank of gas! Thanks Dad!

Back to the real content… this cookbook, ‘In the Small Kitchen’ was waiting for me when I got home! My wonderful coworker Sarah told me all about it (You can find her blog at 20 Something Cupcakes). These girls, Cara and Phoebe call themselves the “Quarter Life Cooks” of the food blog Big Girls Small Kitchen and it’s all about growing up and cooking in your first apartment and such. I’m really excited about getting into it because I don’t know how to cook for one! Guess that’s okay for my roommates 🙂 Alex won’t be able to stay away from my mac n’ cheese! (Food is a weakness for us).

If you click on the pictures above, you will be taken to BGSK.com and the Amazon site to buy the book (I pre-ordered mine!)

I’m sure you will be seeing posts soon about recipes I’ll try from the book! To happy cooking and safe driving! (This is where I imagine a room full of people responding with *Hear, hear!*) 😉

Categories: Music Movies Books

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

2 Comments on “I’m a ‘Big Girl’ Now”

  1. May 26, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    HUZZAH- I will be in your kitchen all the time. IT will be cupcake central, and mac-n-cheese just never gets old. It just makes my thighs into THUNDA THIGHS! :]

    • Rachel
      May 26, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      But they are such sexy thighs!

Leave a Reply

