A Hundred Pounds

Cake is people food. Dogs eat dog food, cats eat.. catnip?, and people eat cake. That’s what I would like to believe. And cake is a remedy as much as it is a celebratory thing! Last Friday, I worked my last full day at Mr. Food for the summer and I brought in this pound cake in for lunch. It’s always a big hit because it is so delicious and… delicious. I like mine with blueberries on top 🙂

Baking is therapeutic for me; I can work out a lot of energy by making cupcakes and cookies and other wonderful things. I can put all of these things together and get a solid resolution and I love how that works out. Maybe my life is like a ca… I’m not going to go there and relate my life to baking, I’ll just stop right there…

Let them eat cake!

Stolen Pound Cake

My mother got this recipe from a neighbor when we lived in Georgia, but claims it’s hers now. I guess I’ll give her credit for making some of the best pound cake and passing it on to me, but shhh! It’s not actually her recipe!

  • 3 cups sugar
  • 2 sticks butter (softened)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 8 oz sour cream (softened)
  • 3 cups cake flour
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp lemon (plus some zest!)
Mix the sugar, butter, baking soda, sour cream in a mixer until smooth. Then, on low speed, alternate adding the cake flour, eggs, vanilla and lemon until mixed. Do not preheat the oven, but put the cake into a greased bundt pan and then into a cold oven. Close the door and then preheat for 325 and bake it for 90 minutes.
Wah-la! Delicious cake! And everybody likes cake. Tell me how much you and your friends and family enjoy it, I swear you will get complement after complement!
Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

