Internships are like Potty Training

This amazing ad for Adobe is by Bates 141, a design firm. Of course Advertisers/Graphic Designers would go ape over this, it’s perfect 🙂

Internships are kind of like potty training- you get put in pull-ups before your parents allow you to go to sleep on your best Barbie comforter in cotton underwear. While at an internship, you learn by observation and chaperoned practice which is great preparation for the proverbial ‘real world’.

I was blessed enough to be given a great first job/internship at Mr. Food as a food photographer last summer- giving me a taste of a more family-oriented and casual workplace while teaching me the expectations of a company and its team. I still do a lot for Mr. Food, but more as a graphic designer putting together their website revamp and newsletter makeover. When I was invited to complete an internship program at my dad’s office this summer, I thought I would try a corporate scene.

Let’s just say that working this summer has made me realize a couple of things at the ripe old age of nineteen.

1. Nine to Five ain’t working for me. Wake up at 6:30, out the door by 7:30, get to work, place text until lunch at 12:30, place more text, go home at 5, dinner… This is exhausting and draining! I feel like I have no Rachel time, no breathing room. I often envy my friends that can stay out until 1 on a Wednesday, I’d like to just hang out too :/

2. I will be my own boss. I understand that I am young and I have little experience and have only started my schooling, but I also understand that I will not be taking orders from other people for the rest of my life. It’s cool for now, but watch out!- this blog may be the next Rachel Ray Everyday or something ridiculous like that.

3. Feel the strides you are making. Something that I have been having issues with at my new job is that I feel as if I were not there, the work would still be completed. At Mr. Food, I feel integral to what is happening. My whole life will be about making some sort of print on the universe and a major part of that will be the work I produce. I am not very willing to waste my life copying text into premade templates!

I may be a little exhausted (it’s only Tuesday?) and flustered, but I have been reading Michelle Goodman’s The Anti 9-5 Guide: Practical Career Advice for Women Who Think Outside the Cube. Whether I freelance or spearhead my own project, I know that I will be doing something I love for the rest of my life and I look forward to figuring out just that 🙂

It’s only the beginning!

Categories: The Real World

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Donuts and Dear Ol’ Dad « Collegiate Creative - June 19, 2011

    […] the internship I talked about earlier. (The internship I stepped away from the day after I wrote Internships are like Potty Training and then returned to Mr. Food) To be blunt, his office is boring. Boring and stuffy and the people […]

Leave a Reply

