Dreary Days Make for Good Soup

So I know that this is my second post today (blog overload!) but I was so excited about this photography that I just had to!  

I think that I am meant to live in the north, or somewhere between the Carolinas and Pennsylvania- the coast, but not too too cold. Today, South Florida was rainy and dreary, the days I love. It’s miserably hot down here and days like this are wonderful little breaks. I cannot wait to go back up to Tallahasse and make some soup for some 40 degree weather! Bread and soup, lovely lovely. We have company over from Georgia, where I lived for eight years before high school, and food is an even better way to bring people together. Good food, that is, because you can have an endless conversation about food and the memories and feelings that food has brought up in people’s lives. I don’t know if I’m considering more of a major career in food, but I am certainly leaning to more food blogging and cookbook writing…


Roasted Tomato Soup with Quinoa
Courtesy of Nook & Pantry

I have been looking into Quinoa, a really good-for-you grain, and have been dying to try it. My mother has always been very supportive of me and the things I am interested in and this was waiting at my place at the table when I got home from work one day. Love you, Mom!
  • 2 C roasted tomatoes (from 2 pounds tomatoes) or 2 cans of14.5 oz Muir Glen Fire Roasted Tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion or half a large onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 – 3 C chicken stock or water, to taste
  • 1/4 C quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/4 C chiffonade* basil (optional)

*chiffonade right before using to prevent the basil from turning black

For Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup, add half a cup of heavy cream right after cooking

In a Dutch oven or large nonreactive saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat and add the diced onions. Saute the onions until they are translucent and have softened. Add the minced garlic and saute until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Scrape the onion and garlic mixture into a blender and add the roasted tomatoes or cans of fire roasted tomatoes. Blend until completely smooth, add a little of the chicken stock or water if the mixture is too thick.

Return the puree into the saucepan, add the dried oregano, and the chicken stock or water. Simmer on low to medium low heat for 10 minutes, adjust the seasoning with salt and pepper, add more stock or water if it’s too tomatoey, and add the quinoa. Continue to simmer until the quinoa are cooked through and opened, about 10 – 15 minutes.

Off heat, stir in the chiffonade basil. For creamy soup, stir in the cream after simmering the soup. Add basil at this time too.

This is really delicious with a grilled cheese or a toasted loaf of whole grain bread- can I say bring on winter?

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Foodie Faves: August « Collegiate Creative - August 16, 2011

    […] is $10 per 10 oz box, but it does last if you are sparing with it. It made about four batches of my Roasted Tomato Quinoa Soup (Which is so so good with a grilled swiss cheese […]

  2. Why I Love Tropical Storms: Grilled Goat Cheese Sandwich and Tomato Soup | Collegiate Creative - June 25, 2012

    […] I whipped up some beautiful Roasted Tomato and Quinoa Soup and with the beautiful bread I bought from a really cute boy at Au Peche Mignon in Market Square. […]

Leave a Reply

