Summertime and the Living is Busy

I am the kind of person that needs to have a project to work on. For me, school is that “project” during the fall and spring and working is that over summer. I have many friends who are sitting at home, waiting for the semester to start. I’m not calling them lazy; some have tried very hard to get a job without any luck or some are taking classes online and some are just having a blast by the pool every day. Some days I really wish I was one of my friends but over long weekends and I truly cannot wait to go back to work in the morning.

I love this blog- it is another one of my many projects that I love working on. I find, though, that I am not only making food for my blog but I am thoroughly enjoying cooking. Today, I made dinner with my sister! She chopped the vegetables and cheese and I put everything together with the orzo. That, and photography. My family jokes that we can’t eat anything until I have photographed it. When I’m the Editor at Large at Real Simple magazine and Martha Stewart bows down to me, then we will see who’s laughing!

Summer Orzo Pasta Salad

  • 1 lb Orzo Pasta
  • 2 Medium Cucumbers- diced
  • 3 Medium Tomatoes- diced (take the yucky seeds out)
  • 1 Medium Zucchini0 diced
  • 1 Medium Squash- Sliced into Thin Circles
  • 1 cup Feta Cheese- cubed
  • 1/2 cup Olive Oil or Oil- based Salad Dressing
  • 3 tbs Vinegar and/or 2 tbs Lemon Juice
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  1. Bring a pot of water to boil with a long drizzle of olive oil and a bunch of salt (this seasons your pasta better and helps it soak up more flavor) and cook the orzo for about ten minutes. Watch it because orzo is small and can be ready quickly- keep stirring to break up the pieces
  2. Drain the pasta and run cool water over it, put it in a big bowl and put it in the fridge while you chop up the vegetables and cheese
  3. Chop the vegetables and cheese 🙂
  4. Toss all of the vegetables (feel free to add things, too! My mom wanted some olives in hers) with the olive oil or dressing, lemon juice and vinegar- mix until you like it!
  5. Enjoy!
PS Moose got a haircut today and she is just the cutest thing ever. Nothing like a sweet clean puppy to cuddle with ❤
Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

