A Compromise

I know it may seem that I eat a lot, which is true- don’t get me wrong! But I understand that I cannot eat everything delicious that I make in the quantities I want to eat them in. I would love to be my sister where I could just eat mac n’ cheese everyday and have no issues with a flat stomach, but I am not 5’10” and I do not have a cheetah- like metabolism like she does.

So, I compromise. I have told myself that I can eat desserts that I reaaaally want and then have this as a replacement:

Some really great fruit (these are peaches, but blackberries have become my one of my favorites) plus a half cup of greek yogurt (my new obsession) and a drizzle of honey. It’s glorious.

This summer has brought some really great fruit to South Florida- like I said, the blackberries have been out of this world. The greek yogurt is strained so that it feels so rich and thick but is fat free and has little sugar. The sweetness comes from the yogurt and honey and adds just the right amount. I find that brands like Yoplait or even pre-flavored greek yogurts have so much sugar in them that it kind of defeats the purpose of eating something supposedly good for you. Greek yogurt is the solution, and quite a delicious one I may add.

What is your favorite fresh fruit topping? Reply below to let us know!

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

3 Comments on “A Compromise”

  1. June 29, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Ms. Johnson, please help out a fellow student with dreams of greek yogurt!! haha. I just purchased a large tub of it and have NO idea what to do with it! HELP!!

    -Kelly Woolard 🙂

    • Rachel
      June 29, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      Hi Kelly! Do you have plain or vanilla? If you have plain, (my fave) sprinkle some cinnamon or vanilla on top with some honey stirred in. Don’t add honey into the vanilla, though, it will make it too sweet. Top with berries (Publix has really great sales at the moment for berries because they are at the top of their season) or granola. Get creative and tell me what you come up with 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brown Baggin’ It « Collegiate Creative - July 15, 2011

    […] I’ll keep talking about it (like I did in this blog post!) but fruit plus plain greek yogurt plus honey makes for a delicious dessert and helps me […]

Leave a Reply

