You Win Some, You Lose Some

It’s really nice to be reminded every once in a while that you have great friends. Today, I was reminded by spending time with my favorite twins and skyping with my besties ❤ I got a wonderful invitation yesterday to go mill around Target yesterday with Beth and Jessie (the twins)- one of my favorite things to do. There is nothing like spending money on things like tomato blossom scented candles and Starbucks iced chai tea lattes, also known as ‘Wants’, not ‘Needs’- but give me a break, it was payday on Friday!

During our field trip to the magical wonderland that is Target, we stumbled across Bakerella’s Cake Pop Book and we just had to try them. It’s basically reconstituted cake plus frosting, rolled into balls and dipped in chocolate put on a stick. Yum. I had to try, especially when you google ‘Cake Pops’ and all you get is ‘Awwww! How adorable!’ (Do it right now, you know you want to.)

Although I spent a good long nerdy time googling how to do them and looking up ideas, I found that they were not as easy as I thought they would be.

Like being friends with someone- especially being away at college and starting this whole new independent life as someone you really want to be. Friends from high school remind you of the things you once were and seem so far away. I feel like it’s important to stay connected to them, though. It’s funny how when you haven’t seen certain friends in a long time and when you get back together to catch up, it feels like little time has passed at all. I have a couple of great friends like that in my life and I love those catch-ups. When I graduated high school, I expected it all to be very easy. I thought I would be friends with the same people forever and we would all be so close- but it’s hard. Sometimes they fall off the sticks and the chocolate doesn’t get melted enough and sometimes Skyping feels like work, especially when Denny’s with your new friends is calling your name. It’s not as easy as it looks, but it sure is delicious when it works out every so often.

This week, I am going to attempt making cake pops again and I’m going to catch up- you know who you are and I hope you’re reading MR SH<3 Sweetness on a stick, how much better can it get?

Bake a cake- I used funfetti- and let it cool overnight. Crumble the cake into a large bowl and stir in one can of frosting. Let this batter chill for 15 minutes

Take the batter and roll it into balls a bit larger than a quarter- place them on waxed paper on a cookie sheet in rows (be warned, it makes a whole bunch)

Freeze the cake balls for 15 minutes

While the balls are chilling, melt a bag of colored candy melts or chocolate. This needs to be really thin, so you can add vegetable oil to make it run better over the cake pops.

Take lollipop sticks and dip one end in the chocolate- push it halfway into the cake ball and let it harden for a second. Once it is secure, dip it into the bowl of chocolate and do not stir it around, but more rotate the stick so the ball is covered. Most of ours ended up losing the sticks and had to be fished out with a spoon. Hence, the ridiculous looking cake pops.

Or, you can forget the whole stick thing all together and make truffles.

I will be back with successful cake pops, you can count on that one.

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You Win Some, You Lose Some « The Utterings and Mutterings of a B.A.G. Lady - June 27, 2011

    […] out this wonderful blog written by my dear friend, Rachel. In it, she talks about the time she and I spent together […]

  2. The Oven Timer is Watching You « Collegiate Creative - July 7, 2011

    […] on July 7, 2011 by Rachel Remember my post about making time for old friends? (You can read it here) I have been friends with Sami since the 8th grade and we have been through girl scouts, high […]

Leave a Reply

