Chocolatey Goodness Cures All Problems

I’ll admit it, I’m too sensitive sometimes. I take things to heart and I get too involved with the work I produce. I am easily defeated when people don’t like the things I put a lot of work into. But, see, I know this! So I’m working on it, but making chocolate chip cookies helps. Plus toffee? There we go- all problems solved.

Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes about 42 cookies. Base cookie recipe adapted from the Magnolia Bakery Cookbook.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups coarsely chopped English toffee

DIRECTIONS:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt and whisk to combine. Set aside.
  • In another large bowl, cream the butter and the sugars until smooth, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and mix well. Add the vanilla extract. Add the flour mixture and beat thoroughly. Stir in the toffee and chocolate chips.
  • Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets, leaving several inches between for expansion. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned.
  • Cool the cookies on the sheets for 1 minute, then transfer to a rack to cool completely.
Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

2 Comments on “Chocolatey Goodness Cures All Problems”

  1. Annie
    June 28, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    If I wasn’t living in a dorm I would make these RIGHT NOW. they sound amazingggg. I hope everything is well 🙂

    • Rachel
      June 29, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      Annie! Everything is great! When I get back up to FSU we should totally catch up! I’ll show you all the hidden gems 🙂
      PS? Go to Mr. Robotos, you will be hooked forever

Leave a Reply

