Meatballs for Oddballs

One of my new favorite blogs is ‘Love & Olive Oil’ and I love the tagline- Eat to Live, Cook to Love. It so perfectly summarizes what cooking and food is all about- the people you make and eat it with. Cooking with friends and family is my favorite and the conversation that floats about the kitchen while onions are sauteed or butter is browned is the best. There is nothing like a plate of spaghetti to get people talking.

So, to get together with one of my great friends from school, I proposed we cook together! My friend Josh is one of the funniest people I know. He’s ridiculous and uncensored and the male incarnate of Nicki Minaj (No, really- he can rap most of Pink Friday)- only a few reasons why I keep him around, because sometimes I have no idea why he keeps me around! We are two very different people- we challenge each other and I have some of the best conversations with him. He’s outrageous and fun and I enjoy his company  very much and thus, delicious meatballs!

Josh made the meatballs while I was in charge of the garlic spaghetti noodles and baking the leftover Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookie dough from the other night. I cannot wait to do this in Tallahassee in my own kitchen! I am so so so very excited for that adventure. Yes, Joshua, I am a dork so joke’s on you.

Joshua’s Turkey Meatballs

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine the turkey, scallions, feta, panko crumbs, egg, coriander, cumin, oregano, and salt, and mix gently to combine. Shape into 20 golf-ball-size meatballs.
  2. Dredge the meatballs in the flour, shaking off the excess. In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the meatballs, working in batches if necessary, and cook until browned all over, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a plate.
  3. Pour off any fat remaining in the skillet, add the broth and tomato paste, and bring to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes to reduce slightly.
  4. Return the meatballs to the pan and reduce to a simmer. Cover and cook until the meatballs are tender and cooked through, about 10 minutes. Serve the meatballs with the sauce.

I thought it was so cute how he had everything organized 🙂Josh’s kitchen had such beautiful light! He has these really great big windows that kept the light cozy and wonderful.“Josh, do your cooking face”

LUV YEW, JAWSH!
THAYNKZ FER HAVIN ME OVAH!

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What the Brunch?: Quiche Lorraine « Collegiate Creative - August 7, 2011

    […] friend Josh (See his post here) and I were talking the other day about how excited we were to move back to school (13 days- not […]

  2. Monday Night Meatballs « Collegiate Creative - August 15, 2011

    […] but I thought I would try something new. My friend Josh made some really great turkey meatballs in this blog post, but I’ll give you my take in today’s entry! I’m kind of more excited about this […]

  3. Havana on Earth « Collegiate Creative - September 25, 2011

    […] good friend Josh and I (See the other posts about him here and here) went off on a foodventure, stopping by the Tallahassee Food Festival, Tomatoland (the […]

Leave a Reply

