Viva la Vino

It has been rainy all week here in South Florida- cloudy and cool and grey. It really is my favorite kind of weather, the kind where I just want to chill out at home with my puppy and watch 30 Rock and make soup. I feel like I should live in Seattle or somewhere north. I don’t do well with the heat.

So I was really in the mood for pasta yesterday and spent most of the day at work thinking about it. I dislike the idea of bottled marinara sauce and would rather master the art of it myself. I believe the best kind of cooking is the kind you do without a recipe and what better way than to make tomato sauce- something you really can’t do wrong! I was very proud of my home-made sauce and the family found it quite tasty. They topped it with Italian Pork sausage while I just had noodles. I try to avoid red meat, it was once about not liking the idea of eating baby pigs but now I don’t really like the taste of it. Anyway, the sauce was wonderful on its own and I will be eating it for the rest of the week and I will be sad when it is all gone!

Tipsy Tomato Sauce

This sauce is made with a lot of red wine and has that really robust flavor. None of the ingredients are super exact because I kind of just went on a whim. I’ll try to outline it for you, but it will never truly turn out the same. Guess that’s the beauty of it!

Saute all of this together in a big pot for a good while:

1 1/2 cup onion- chopped
1 cup carrots- chopped
1/2 cup celery- chopped
I also threw in a couple of chopped mushrooms, too
A looong stream of olive oil

Take the contents of the pot and blend until smooth in a food processor

Return the puree into the pot, add 1 cup (or so) of red wine and two cups of water

Let this reduce and then add one can crushed tomatoes

Add some garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, thyme…

Drop in some whole garlic cloves

If you’re hungry, you can dish this out now and let it cook on low until you finish eating and for a little while longer after that. I think Emeril says this- let it get happy!

It made me happy 🙂

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

