It’s Curious as to Why ‘Finding Nemo’ is my Favorite Movie

Singer Island, West Palm Beach, Florida

My family is quite adventurous- I’ve been to Peru and Nicaragua and Costa Rica (3 times!) and the next family adventure- the Galapagos Islands! My parents went to Nepal to climb the foothills of Everest for their honeymoon- I should be the child of adventure! Jr. explorer! And I am, I love travelling and seeing and photographing but the one thing I draw the line at- the ocean.

My mother loves the beach, a true California born and bred. My dad is the next Jacques Cousteau. My sister has great beach hair. They love it- sand and all.

I, on the other hand… I find that ocean water stresses me out. See, on land, I have some what of an advantage to anything trying to attack me (animal-wise). In the water, I am in a whole different environment where I cannot maneuver as quickly and effectively. I am terrified of water that I cannot see the mob of hungry sharks waiting for me to give them a reason to come out and grab me! I know I am paranoid, but it is a real control thing.

Jellyfish are the ultimate fear, don’t get me started.

See, I went out to Singer Island in West Palm Beach today with my family and got to thinking about my fear of the ocean and not being in control. I’m need to try to start letting things go, relax more. I feel like I am accomplishing that now, but I am kind of in a vacuum- I’m at home, all by myself. When I get back to school and reconnect with all of the people I haven’t seen in a while, how is it going to be? I’d like to be less afraid of ‘the ocean’, make some new artsy friends and find people who will engage in my interests in cooking/blogging the world away, perhaps I will find a boy along the way!

So, to no longer thinking there are sharks lurking in the shadows *insert raised glass here* and on to Fall 2011- bring it on Tallahassee!

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Muffins My Mom Made « Collegiate Creative - July 11, 2011

    […] sister and dad went off to SCUBA diving lessons yesterday (See my post here about the ocean to see why I didn’t go with) and my mom surprised me with these lovely […]

Leave a Reply

