The Muffins My Mom Made

My sister and dad went off to SCUBA diving lessons yesterday (See my post here about the ocean to see why I didn’t go with) and my mom surprised me with these lovely muffins when I stumbled out of bed at 10 in the morning.

My mom and sister went off to Maine with Emily’s 8th grade english teacher, Mrs. Berard, to her property in Maine where she has built an ecological camp called Robin’s Nest Camp. They spend six weeks hiking, gardening, and learning about the environment, all while living eco-friendly and baking with natural ingredients. The blueberries were the best, they boast, and made some of the best muffins you could imagine. Small, juicy and sweet- mountaintop Maine blueberries are a part of the reason my mom longs to go back. My sister has an obligation to the marching band at her high school, so they couldn’t go this year but I fully expect them to be absent next summer. Who knows- maybe I will join them!

These aren’t as good as Maine’s, but check out the recipe from the muffins my mom has been making for us for years.

Blueberry Muffins

Courtesy of Susan Johnson

  • 1 3/4 cup Flour
  • 2/3 cup Sugar
  • 1/3 cup  Oil
  • 2 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 Egg
  • 3/4 cup Milk
  • 1/2 cup Blueberries

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl (Flour, sugar, baking powder, salt)
  • Beat the egg and mix in the wet ingredients (Egg, oil, milk)
  • Make a well with the dry ingredients and pour in the egg mixture and fold batter together
  • When the batter is mixed completely, fold in the blueberries. Don’t get too crazy, you don’t want the berries to bleed all over and make the batter purple

  • Grease a muffin tin or line it with cupcake liners and pour 1/4 cup of the batter into each cup
  • Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown!

Note: I like my muffin buttered (I would go on Mean Girls reference, but I couldn’t figure out how to make it catchy)- but you could eat it as is! They are so very delicious and is my favorite summer breakfasts

And now time for some unrelated puppy love…

You gotta love Moose, she’s just the most ridiculously cute dog ever. She likes to pile up in the clean laundry, kind of defeating the purpose but it’s just so adorable you can’t be too mad at her 🙂

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

