A Week of Wonderful Pasta: Day Three- Sun Dried Tomato Chicken Rolls

I think I need to rethink this whole wonderful week when I am away at school because I have realized that I take a lot of the ingredients my mom has in her pantry for granted. I think, “Oh, I’ll just have this on hand!” This is not true. Especially when the ingredients aren’t just normal stock pantry things! Like, the sun dried tomato pesto. My mom is very supportive of me and the things that I am interested in and she will sometimes just bring me home things that I may like. Like the pesto, she came home and said, “Look what I got you Rachie!”

So, I’m going to miss my stocked pantry that is just magically refilled each week. I’m going to be the magical pantry re-stocker.

You may have to take a trip to the store. Or improvise. Or just skip this recipe all together, but trust me when I say this is delicious and very much worth the $2.38 jar. It may not be directly a pasta recipe, but you need another source of protein other than from your weekly Chipotle burritos.

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto Chicken Rolls

  • 1 lbs Chicken Breast
  • 1 8 oz jar of Sun Dried Tomato Pesto
  • 1 Package Garlic Flavored Croutons
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 Cup Flour
  1. Preheat your oven to 350
  2. Cut all of the fat off of the chicken and then place the them between two pieces of waxed paper. Beat it flat with a rolling pin or anything else that you may have
  3. Lay out the flat pieces of chicken and spoon on a hefty amount of pesto
  4. Roll up the chicken and secure the roll with a toothpick through the entire toll
  5. Put the beaten egg and flour into two shallow dishes
  6. Crush the croutons while still in the package and then place them into a shallow dish
  7. Now we learn a new vocab word! Dredge: Take the chicken, roll it in the egg and then in the flour. (Dredge refers to coating with flour) You can use a fork so your fingers don’t get gross
  8. Take the rolls, roll them into the egg dip one more time and then in the crushed croutons
  9. Put the rolls into a baking dish and bake for 20-30 minutes

I boiled some pasta noodles and tossed them with the leftover sun-dried tomato mixture to put under the rolls. My mom raved about the crouton idea, but I just kind of blamed on the fact that we didn’t have any breadcrumbs. This came out better, I think! More garlicky and delicious!

Enjoy, friends!

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

5 Comments on “A Week of Wonderful Pasta: Day Three- Sun Dried Tomato Chicken Rolls”

  1. July 20, 2011 at 4:07 am #

    YUM! That looks so tasty! Thanks for sharing your recipe! I’m always finding new ways to add chicken to my pasta 🙂 I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

    • Rachel
      July 20, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      It is tasty 🙂 I did check out your blog, looks delish. Cupcakes and I also share a love/love relationship, except for the part when the cupcake gets eaten. Not so lucky for the pastry :/ So maybe it’s a hate relationship on it’s end.

  2. August 17, 2011 at 5:36 am #

    I was planning on making a quick pasta dish with my bottled tomato pesto when I saw this. I cant wait to try this today

    • Rachel
      August 17, 2011 at 9:11 am #

      Use the whole bottle- it is so dang delish!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 8 Fresh Takes on Homemade Pesto | Yummly - January 17, 2013

    […] Photo Credits: Collegiate Creative […]

Leave a Reply

