Hot Diggedy Dog – My Semi-Promise

I cheated today. Well, I feel like I cheated, anyway. I semi-pride myself on the fact that I haven’t eaten any type of red meat in six years. My grandfather was visiting us in California and for dinner we grilled some baby back ribs. Suddenly, mid-bite, at the ripe age of thirteen, I realize- I am eating a small pig. From that day forward, I have chosen to cut red meat out of my diet and planned to cut out chicken once I had the means to decide on my own diet. Tofu and vegetarian supplements were not about to grace the Johnson grocery list so I decided to do it as well as I could.

But today, I cheated. I ate a hot dog. My mom and I were at Costco and they just called to me. I can hear food speak, yes. So I decided, why not. My decision to no longer eat red meat wasn’t about not eating animals so much as it was the taste. It didn’t really appeal to me anymore, but on this day, I really wanted this hot dog. With relish. And mustard. And ketchup.

So I ate it. And it was delicious. And this might start my gradual downfall back into enjoying meat. We shall see! Maybe you will start seeing more recipes that include pork or beef. Onwards and upwards, my blog friends! Sorry I have skipped the past two days, my best friend is in town and all the poolside tanning, shopping and beach excursions have worn me out. You will not be neglected any longer, though! I semi-promise.

But that’s what I said about meat. 🙂

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

