Tomato Tomato

The longest relationship I have ever been in is my relationship with food, we go way back. Food never fails me or puts me down or makes me cry- it is in eating I trust. My recent top-charting vegetable has been tomatoes, you could even consider them my summer fling 😉

I found these yellow tomatoes at the best Fresh Market in South Florida- ‘The Boys’. It’s loud and cramped and is flooded with cranky women shouting “ARTHUR! GET THE BREAD, ARTHUR!” and literally fist fighting for parking spots. The produce is so very worth it, though, and they have really great samples. They have a woman who stands in front of the melons, cutting off slices of the produce for you to try. It’s glorious. I got this beautiful yellow tomato there and have been patiently awaiting it’s ripening.
For lunch today, I will have what I had yesterday- toasted Italian bread spread with goat cheese and topped with beautiful sliced yellow and red tomatoes. Yummy!

Who needs boys when you have vegetables?

 

 

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bacon is Good For You « Collegiate Creative - July 30, 2011

    […] making these sandwiches was a perfect solution. Plus, I still had some of that leftover tomato from this post! […]

Leave a Reply

