Hay Mate, Fish n’ Chips!

Tonight marks my last real weekend at home until I go away for the Fall Semester and my dad put together some good ol’ fish and chips! A trip to Costco (One of my favorite places) brought back a tray full of tilapia and a hankering for malt vinegar.

My parents have taken on this big hardwood flooring project that, frankly, is a pain in everyone’s ass. We had to rip out the carpet, have people install the wood and then my dad decided he could do all of the baseboards and it has just been an ongoing saga. My room is finally in order, but I’m leaving it in five days! So, a dinner to celebrate its completion is in order.

Fish n’ Chips

  • 5 tilapia filets
  • 2 cups cornmeal
  • Garlic powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Paprika
  • 1 cup milk
  • Oil for for frying
  1. Pour oil into a shallow saute pan OR fill up your deep frier and set to medium-high heat
  2. Rinse the tilapia filets and put them in a bowl of water.
  3. Put the dry ingredients in a shallow dish and stir them together
  4. Put the milk in another shallow dish
  5. Fork one of the filets and dip both sides in the cornmeal mix, then into the milk, then back into the cornmeal.
  6. Put the filet into the hot oil (if using a deep frier, drop the basket and watch it fry! If using a saute pan, make sure your oil isn’t super super hot, your breading will burn before the fish is cooked through) and the fish should be done in about 6-8 minutes
  7. Serve with french fries! I like to shake malt vinegar on my fish n’ chips, but you can also dip it in tartar sauce or ketchup
  8. Enjoy!

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

2 Comments on “Hay Mate, Fish n’ Chips!”

  1. Mary Roberts
    August 15, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Hi Rachel. I like that you’re blogging. The pictures are beautiful! Although this is the first entry I’ve read, it kind of reminds me of Julie’s blog in the movie Julie and Julia. I loved that movie and would have loved doing what she did.

    A. Mary

    • Rachel
      August 15, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

      Thanks, Mary! It’s what I have been working on this summer and it’s been fun getting it started 🙂

Leave a Reply

