Monday Night Meatballs

I feel like these late summer months for the rest of the world are somewhat like Florida’s faux Fall or Winter, even. It rains every afternoon and can get dreary and to bearable temperatures. My boss had soup for lunch today, that’s what it feels like in SoFla everyday between 2 and 4:30.

Meatballs just sounded comfy and nice! My mom usually bakes them, but I thought I would try something new. My friend Josh made some really great turkey meatballs in this blog post, but I’ll give you my take in today’s entry! I’m kind of more excited about this recipe because it’s my first real recipe that I didn’t use a recipe for. What I have been trying to do is research a whole bunch of recipes of the same thing to see how everybody does it and then form my own according to the ones that I find. So, I will debut a Rachel Original! (See what I did there with those capital letters? Gettin’ fancy over here…)

Monday Night Meatballs

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 medium onion- chopped
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 tsp italian seasoning
  1. Drizzle about a tablespoon of olive oil in a hot saute pan and toss in the onions. Saute until tender and somewhat see-through.
  2. In a separate bowl, put the grated cheese, breadcrumbs and italian seasoning and stir together.
  3. Take the sauteed onions out of the pan and pour them into the bowl
  4. Stir in the ground turkey and then one egg, stirring to just mix, and then the other, just until combined.
  5. Using your hands, roll the meat into balls and put back into the saute pan (don’t put it directly on the heat when filling up the pan)
  6. When all of the meatballs have been rolled, put the pan back on the burner and put it on medium-low heat (so you can cook the ball through and avoid burning the outsides)
  7. Boil some pasta while you’re at it! Get a roommate started on a salad or garlic bread!
  8. Using tongs (two spoons also work well) roll them over to the other side after about five minutes or the bottoms look cooked about 1/4 of the way up the meatball
  9. Let this side cook through. You can also turn them on their sides to help cook them, but I put mine in a 375 oven for about 15 minutes while I made a salad and such to make sure they were cooked
  10. In the same pan, pour out your favorite sauce and return the meatballs back to the pan! Let this get happy for a little bit and then serve on top of hot pasta!
  11. Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

One Comment on “Monday Night Meatballs”

  1. August 15, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    i like how you even had to line up the meatballs! haha awesome recipe, will try turkey soon

Leave a Reply

