Feels Like the First Time

Above you will find the first meal I made in my wonderful little house. Granted, I cannot give you the recipe for the Vodka Sauce since I have not yet visited the local Winn-dixie for tomatoes and silly you, I can’t get my hands on alcohol!

I thought I would share what my first real meal was here and how excited I was about making it. I have purged the kitchen that hasn’t seen the rough side of a sponge and a good spray of Clorox in years and now the countertops are white once again (Or maybe a bit beige?)! It has been an experience, but I feel accomplished! I feel as if I belong to it. I know, it’s weird, but I am relating my experiences with food as if it is a relationship. Food doesn’t work out all of the time, it may burn you or it may be the most delicious, but it is all an adventure. My kitchen is the vessel for all of that- I will learn the temperament of my oven and I’ll see how I can work with and in it. It is going to be a challenge and I am excited for it.

So, for now, I will make pasta and use canned sauce and call it dinner. I will get more complicated and more fun or you will hear about more disasters, but this is only the beginning!

Onwards and upwards for Rachel’s kitchen! Pictures of it to follow soon!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, The Real World

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

