Working on It

I know that I haven’t been blogging and I really do feel awful about it, but I do have reasons! Good reason, some, but mostly the same old crazy Rachel. I was all excited about posting blogs about moving back up to Tallahassee, but I’ve been neglecting you all because my house got broken into and my beautiful macbook got stolen. Never in my life have I missed Photoshop so much! I had to use iPhoto to “edit” this photo. Believe me, Levels would never fail me as much as “Enhance” has haha.

But, anyway, the break-in really bothered me, and still does. I came in to the house in alone after being gone for an hour or so- I don’t think I have ever cried so hard in front of a stranger (the police) and I’m not really the crying type! I’m not the first to pour my feelings out to just anyone and it takes a pretty important person that I trust to get much of anything out of me. This whole thing, though, has bothered me so much that I’ve just been absorbing all of my other feelings about things that I thought I was over, too, and I don’t know how to handle them all. My house is such a constant reminder of everything and it’s hard to shake everything and be the strong, confident person I totally am. I was very excited to come back and start fresh, but I feel like I was really set back a mile from the progress I thought I made over the summer. It’s been a cycle of bad luck with relationships and cars and now this? I want to turn the corner, but I’m struggling with how to.

It took me a bit to gather myself up and make these cookies, almost a week, but I think it’s a start. Being anxious kind of depletes the appetite and being around food hasn’t been my first choice. I have yet to go shopping for food! This is unlike me, but I promise this blog post is the first step in me getting over it 🙂 Hey, on the bright side, I have more to write about! That, and I’m safe and sound with warm cookies 🙂

Peanut Butter Cookies
The Joy of Cooking is such a go-to cookbook- it would never fail you! These cookies are no exception- rich and crumbly and delicious!

  •   1 1⁄2 cups all-purpose flour
  •   1⁄2 teaspoon baking soda
  •   1⁄3 cup (5 1⁄3 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened
  •   1⁄2 cup sugar
  •   1⁄2 cup packed brown sugar
  •   1 large egg
  •   1 cup peanut butter (smooth or chunky)
  •   1⁄2 teaspoon vanilla
  • Optional: 1 bag of chocolate kisses (or hugs!)
  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F. Grease or line 2 cookie sheets.
  2. Whisk together the flour and baking soda
  3. Blend the sugar and butter together, add the egg, peanut butter, and vanilla
  4. Stir in the flour mixture until blended. Shape into 1-inch balls and arrange about 2 inches apart on the cookie sheets. Press flat with a fork across the ball and then again to make an X. Bake, 1 sheet at a time, about 10 to 12 minutes. Let stand briefly, then remove to a rack to cool. (I put chocolate kisses on top of mine and then put them back in the oven for 30 seconds to get the chocolate warm and gooey, but still hold their kiss shape)

Makes about sixty 1 1⁄2-inch cookies

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, The Real World

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

