Portuguese Party

Getting over something takes a lot of time. This recent burglary has just really gotten to me, making me feel unsteady and very untrustworthy of my surroundings. These girls that I am living with, however, make everything so much better. When they are around, I just feel so much safer and at home. We live in a very cozy, comfortable environment when we are all together and they are helping me more than they know.

Meet the girls! To the left is Isabela, middle is Ariane and the right is Isabella (Confusing, I know). As well as sharing the same name, Isabela and Isabella share a similar heritage. They are Brazilian and can speak Portuguese fluently. The silly thing is, though, they cannot make us any Brazilian food! When the Isabellas were chatting about stuff, this food popped up in the conversation: Pão de Queijo. Ariane, pipes in and goes “Oh! I buy tapioca flour just so that I can make that!” And so we did. She is the coolest and knows so much about food and tea and everything delicious. I am super excited to cook with her and make more bread like this at one in the morning.

So, onwards and upwards! I know I say that a lot, but I need to keep myself focused on things like cooking and blogging and work to avoid getting crazy and anxious like I tend to do. There are just so many things around me that trigger those feelings but these girls completely negate them all which I am loving so much! I’m going to keep on going and moving and working and good things will come, I just know it.

Pão de Queijo: Brazilian Cheese Bread

  • 1 cup Tapioca Flour
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 1/3 cup Water
  • 1/3 cup Milk
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 2/3 cup Grated Parmesan cheese (or any type of cheese preferred)
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix the water, milk and water ingredients in a saucepan until the butter is melted (Don’t bring to a boil or else the eggs will cook)
  3. Sift in the tapioca flour- do it right in the saucepan
  4. Fold in the cheese
  5. Once the dough has come together- it should be gummy- roll them into 1-inch balls
  6. Bake them on a cookie sheet for 25-30 minutes. The outsides should be lovely and cracked! They are better hot so eat them as soon as they are cooled off enough 🙂 
Categories: Uncategorized

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

One Comment on “Portuguese Party”

  1. ariane
    September 2, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    :D:D:D:D:D:D <333

Leave a Reply

