Easy Summer Dinner: Roasted Grape Tomato Pasta Toss

I wrote a bio for an art class recently and I talked about how I get enthusiastic about everything. Even if I’m mad, I’m enthusiastic about being mad, do you know what I’m saying. Good food gets me really happy and usually I think of meal ideas a couple hours in advance and then I have something to look forward to make.

Walking home from a meeting today, I thought about the pint of grape tomatoes that was sitting on my counter and how I wasn’t too excited about eating them since they have gotten a little mushy. Cherry and grape tomatoes are really only great when they are cold and crisp so I wasn’t too sure what I was going to do with them. Then I thought, can I roast a grape tomato? Why not!

These tomatoes are super tiny so they only take about 10-15 minutes to get toasty and delicious instead of a more dense tomato which can take hours when they are slow roasted (but they are SO worth the wait!). Check out the recipe below!

Roasted Grape Tomato Pasta Toss

  • A handful of grape tomatoes (Use the wrinkly ones- you can’t tell they’re mushy when you roast them!)
  • Olive oil non-stick cooking spray or 1 tbs of olive oil
  • 1 serving of cooked pasta – I used angel hair
  • 2-3 tbs of vinegar-based salad dressing
  • Parmesan cheese to taste
  • Salt and pepper
  1. Slice the tomatoes in half lengthwise- they are small so be careful with your fingers!
  2. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil. Arrange the tomatoes with the flat side up
  3. Drizzle the tomatoes in a small amount of olive oil or spray them with the non-stick cooking spray and salt and pepper them really well
  4. Put those babies in a 325 degree oven (not too hot- these are too small for that!) and give them a good 10-15 minutes to get toasty and crinkly
  5. While the tomatoes are in the oven, prepare the pasta (or you could use leftover pasta and keep it cold- either way works)
  6. Toss the pasta with some vinegar-based salad dressing (or cream-based, but I’m not a big fan of that)
  7. Pour the tomatoes out on to the plate of pasta and sprinkle with parmesan cheese
  8. Enjoy!
Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

