I Simply Remember My Favorite Teas and Then I Don’t Feel So Bad

Anyone get the titles’ reference? I love the Sound of Music- it’s one of my favorite musical movies and Julie Andrews is wonderful. 

I’ve had a rough start. This semester has, so far, been very emotionally trying and the thing is, none of it is over. My anxiety over the break in led to a lot of feelings being uncovered that I buried so I wouldn’t have to deal with them and now it’s all coming back for me to face. Usually I’m a confident, strong and independent person but all of this has made me into somewhat of a nervous mess that I would really like to move on from.

Tea is comforting. Hot tea settles my constantly unsettled nerves- lulling me to sleep and tasting delicious all the while! My roommate, Ariane, is a connoisseur of tea and I love it when she teaches me all about the different types. The old tenants left a big wooden DVD rack in the house so what did we do with it? We use it as a tea rack to put our many many types on display. One day I will put up a picture, but I am happy in my comfy bed at the moment and don’t want to leave it 🙂

My Top 5 Favorite Teas:

Chai – I love the spiciness of this drink. Most people think it’s only for wintertime, but I don’t think there is ever a time that a Chai Tea Latte isn’t appropriate

Rooibos – I fell in love with Starbucks’ Vanilla Rooibos and although it is an herb blend and not really tea, I do like that it is caffeine free so I can drink it late at night.

Green – Green tea is light and summery, perfect for hot days when poured on top of ice. When it is blended with lemongrass and served hot, it is just so tangy and cozy!

White – This is kind of a vauge taste, I think, and not everyone enjoys it but I sure do! White tea is great with peach or nectarine and is especially great cold.

Arizona – I’m cheating a little on this one since Arizona makes tea, it isn’t the tea but there really isn’t one Arizona tea drink I don’t enjoy. It is a happy day when it is 2 for 1 at Publix!

What’s your favorites? Write it in the comments below!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food, The Real World

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

5 Comments on “I Simply Remember My Favorite Teas and Then I Don’t Feel So Bad”

  1. September 12, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Love the title quote! I’m going to be singing that next time I make tea, while wearing mittens, thinking about kittens, etc.

    • Rachel
      September 13, 2011 at 1:20 am #

      Haha oh yeah I had to sing it in my head a couple of times to make sure it sounded right 🙂

  2. October 14, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Ok… so idk if i will realize if you reply, so let me know on my FB wall!! Buuuuut…. not sure if you, but how do you go about making your own tea bags and tea with herbs? I want to give it a try! Oh btw… LOVE the new layout 🙂

    • Rachel
      October 14, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

      My roommate buys loose tea and then puts it in a metal tea strainer. It’s not a paper tea bag, but you can use the metal basket-like contraption over and over again. Also, Teavana sells really great loose tea by the pound and it’s super delicious 🙂

      Click this link to see what I’m talking about:

      http://www.amazon.com/Stainless-Steel-Mesh-Tea-Ball/dp/B00004RIZ7/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1318642436&sr=8-2

      On making tea and drying out leaves, I’m not too sure 🙂 I’m sure there’s a way to cultivate your own tea leaves but I think that’s more involved than it seems.

      • October 14, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

        Indeed thanks!! My roommate used to have a metal one like above and I loved it! I will have to get one! Thanks for the advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

