Football Food

I never used to be a sports fan- it just kind of happened. My first football game was a magical experience; the energy and spirit and fifth row seats convinced me to become a true Seminole. I bought war paint and got chills when the commercials came on TV- I even travelled to North Carolina last year to watch the ACC championship game. Needless to say, I love being a Seminole a team I can cheer for because I feel as if I am part of them, too.

Tonight, the biggest game of the season just occurred and we didn’t get a chance to show up #1 Oklahoma University 😦 I did, however, get to make a really great dip that was devoured as the game progressed. This Layered Taco Dip was a winner, I wish I could say the same about the Noles! We will get ’em next time!

Layered Taco Dip

  • 1 16-ounce can of Refried Beans
  • 1 tsp Cumin
  • 2 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 cup Water
  • 1 package Mexican Style Shredded Cheese
  • 1 8-ounce package of Guacamole (I used Wholly Guacamole)
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 16-ounce container of Sour Cream
  1. In a medium saucepan, stir the beans, cumin, chili powder, salt and water until the beans are smooth and creamy- bring to a boil
  2. In a 9×9 baking dish (I used a round dish), smooth out a layer of beans. Immediately sprinkle most of the bag of cheese on top (Leave some for the very top layer)
  3. Spread out the guacamole on top of the cheese layer- then sprinkle the tomatoes- then the sour cream, spreading out the layers so that they touch all sides of the dish
  4. Sprinkle with remaining cheese and scoop out with tortilla chips and such
  5. Enjoy the dip and the game!
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

