A Food Tour of Chattanooga, Tennessee

Dalton, Georgia really shouldn’t be considered a bustling metropolis of culture and such, but if you travel about 30 minutes north, you will get to the city that borders Georgia and Tennessee- Chattanooga. As a former Daltonian, I know that Chattanooga is the place for shopping, good dining, and a decent movie theatre. Dalton ain’t no cow town (we do have a Panera!) but let’s just say it’s far from Atlanta in many ways.

If you read my previous post, you will know that I am taking care of two kids under 10 while their parents are in Chicago for the marathon. While I was instructed to drop Sadie off for Yom Kippur services, Max and I had two hours to kill Downtown so we went exploring. First stop, coffee!

This great coffee shop is tucked into the art district of Chattanooga, next to the Hunter museum. It’s a really great little area and the coffee was really robust and delicious. The only thing I was curious about was where the Rembrant’s “Night Watch” was hung! Har har Art History…

I like coffee, but for some reason I really only enjoy it when it is iced or in some kind of a lattee. Hot coffee doesn’t really appeal to me, I’d rather have hot tea or a hot chai tea latte.

Max, of course, requested a chocolate chip cookie bigger than his head. I, of course, cannot deny this face much of anything. Sorry, abba and ema!

Yeah, we’re cute.

Next stop, Urban Stack! Since Sadie is younger, she was allowed to break Yom Kippur fast early. How better to satisfy an empty stomach than with a really great burger?

The first thing I really liked about Urban Stack is it’s location- it’s in this really cool downtown area of Chattanooga that makes you feel like only you know where it is. That, and it’s classy. Their menus are some of the most well-designed menus I have seen and the burgers they offer are all mouth watering. I had the Asian Q and I substituted the beef patty for Turkey and it sure was delicious. The only thing I wasn’t too much of a fan of was the vinegar-soaked slaws along with the cucumber kimchee (which are basically salty pickles), but the ginger barbecue sauce really calmed down the tangy flavors.

My Sadie is the sweetest, even if she does things to her brother just to get a reaction out of him.

Can I take them home with me? I love these kids to pieces and I’m going to have a hard time giving them back. Off to the open market tomorrow!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

One Comment on “A Food Tour of Chattanooga, Tennessee”

  1. Emily Johnson
    October 9, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    That last picture of you guys is absolutely adorable! I hope you guys are having fun! ❤

Leave a Reply

