Dessert in 90 Seconds: “Cup” Cakes

I just made a cake. In a coffee mug. AND it took me less than 5 minutes.

Yes, this is real life. Yes, I am a ridiculous human being.

I found this recipe while stumbling around the internet along with a dozen other variations. I tried three- the first came out a play-dough consistency disaster, the second required more ice cream than cake but the third… The third, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough “Cup” Cake, was decadent and delightful, not at all what you would expect coming out of the microwave. Also, I’m sure you probably already have these five ingredients in your cabinet- go try this out right now, I promise it’s worth parting with Facebook and Tumblr. It’s even worth getting out of your warm and comfy bed. Trust me, I know.

Chocolate Chip “Cup” Cake

  • 1 Egg
  • 3 tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 1/3 cup Flour
  • 1 tablespoon softened Butter
  • 3-4 tablespoons Chocolate Chips (Or butterscotch, or white chocolate, or M&M’s… endless opportunities!)
  1. Put all the ingredients in a ceramic coffee mug
  2. MIx it all up (Make sure you get the bottom of the mug, it can get tricky!)
  3. Put it in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes or until the top settles (it doesn’t have to be crispy, it just needs to no longer be goo). This depends on the temprament of your microwave, so take it out after a minute and a half and see how much more it needs.
  4. Make for your friends! Watch them “SHUT UP HOW DID YOU DO THAT!” and take credit for it. I’ll let you have the glory 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Desserts

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

2 Comments on “Dessert in 90 Seconds: “Cup” Cakes”

  1. December 11, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    This recipe looks deliciously dangerous! I have seen other microwave cake recipes across the web, but this certainly looks the most promising. Also, I must say, I really like your blog! It’s great to find other college students like me who are managing their love for cooking/baking with the hectic university life 🙂

    • Rachel
      December 11, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      Oh it is so so great – thanks for commenting ! I am all about cooking in college and encouraging others that it isn’t as scary as it seems 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

