Back from Break: Easy Quinoa Toss

I’ll start off by saying that I know that I am an awful, horrible human being for deserting this blog for the past two weeks! I had a wonderful holiday in California and Colorado visiting a whole bunch of family and having a great time- I got to see the sand and snow 🙂 Of course, my break was filled with so so so much food, namely one gigantic 4-layer Salted Caramel Chocolate Cake, but we will get to that later!

This year, for me, is about winding myself down. I’m trying to focus more on me and what makes me happy, this blog is one thing that really helps me do that. Next, I need to stop eating so much pasta and carbs! Spaghetti is just so good and I want it all the time, but I am going to share with you my search for the alternative. This delightful tomato, feta cheese and chicken quinoa toss is a wonderful way to beat the noodle- check it out below!

Easy Quinoa Toss with Tomatoes, Feta and Chicken

  • Small handful of cherry tomatoes (About 1/4 cup)
  • 1 small cooked chicken breast, shredded
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 3 tbs light balsamic vinaigrette
  • 1 tbs Olive oil
  • Salt & Pepper (to taste)
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Cut the cherry tomatoes in half, toss with olive oil and salt and pepper. Spread onto a parchment paper- lined baking sheet and roast in the oven for 20 minutes
  3. Cook the quinoa to package directions (be sure to stir to avoid a difficult pot to wash!)
  4. In a medium-sized bowl, combine quinoa, roasted tomatoes, feta cheese and shredded chicken and toss with vinaigrette!
  5. Enjoy a filling and healthy meal! Happy New Year!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Quick and Easy

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

