On Being Mean and Things: Roasted Vegetable Alfredo

Lack of sleep makes me a mean human being. The semester is in full swing for me and I’ve got at least five different projects going all at the same time which usually means a lack of sleep and food making me the worst. Most of the time I’ll realize that I’m being insane after I’ve insulted the people around me. They understand when I blame it on hunger (most of the time).

Sometimes I’m a little more creative when I’m super busy. That way, I plan in my head what ingredients I have on the walk home or look up quick recipes on my phone while on my way to class. It kind of works out – except when people get in my way ;). This came about from a pint of neglected cherry tomatoes that lost their deliciousness. One way to fix up old vegetables is to roast them, the slower and lower temperature the better. It is my favorite way to cook vegetables and it’s a much healthier option than a quick hot pocket.

Roasted Vegetable Alfredo with Cherry Tomatoes and Onions

I tried to steer away from the alfredo and just opt for an olive oil and salt and peper toss, but I just couldn’t resist!

  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 small onion, chopped roughly
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and Pepepr
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (or half and half for a lighter sauce)
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese
  • 3 tbs butter
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked ziti
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  2. Combine tomatoes, onion, olive oil and salt and pepper and toss. Spread out onto baking sheet and roast on top rack for 45 minutes. If you want it faster, turn up the heat to 375°F for 20-30 minutes
  3. In a medium saucepan, melt butter. Pour in heavy cream and heat through. Toss in cheese and melt.
  4. Stir the vegetables into the sauce and then on top of the ziti.
  5. Top with some parmesan cheese and enjoy!
Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Dinners

Author:Rachel Johnson

Writer/Photographer/Food Person Stupid Good: When food is so simple and delicious, it's just stupid. www.stupidgoodrachel.com

Subscribe Here

Want to know whenever Collegiate Creative has a new post? Sign up here for new posts and so much more!

2 Comments on “On Being Mean and Things: Roasted Vegetable Alfredo”

  1. January 28, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    Mmmm! I love how you served them in super cute little ramekins! Looks fantastic 🙂

  2. Emily
    January 30, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    I like the ramekins too! 😉

Leave a Reply

